David’s sweater, originally uploaded by Hannahcha.

This photo was taken February 2007 in my parent’s living room (see? lots of stuff!). The handsome man to my left is David, my boyfriend/partner/novio. He’s wearing the sweater that I made for him, using a pattern I found in my grandmother’s old Vogue Knitting magazine from 1948. Sizing was a challenge, since they seemed to have been much smaller 50 years ago. David is not a small man, so I tried my best to expand the pattern. Also, the yarn for the pattern of course no longer exists, so the nice folks at the Yarn Barn in Lawrence, Kansas (via internet) helped me find an appropriate replacement. If I did it all over again, I would have made it longer in the torso, but aside from that, I’m very pleased with how it came out. It’s double-knit in a soft wool with a cozy foldover collar. To my right in the photo is my best friend since high school, Leigh Ann, and her boyfriend/my cousin Jeremy.

