Again I am without photographic evidence, but trust me on this one: it was the most surprisingly satisfying and delicious thing I’ve cooked in a long time!!  It was delicious fresh and even more delicious a few hours later after it had sat for a while.  The best part:  I made it up using all stuff that I happened to have lying around, loosely based on a typical indian cabbage and potato stir fry dish.   The sweet-spicy-lightly peanuty sauce, the crunchy tender cabbage, the firm mushy potato bits, the hint of indian flavors…  I swear I am going to cook this again as soon as I get the chance, it was seriously that good!  Dear cabbage, I think this is the start of a beautiful friendship.

1)  Heat a small amount of olive oil in a skillet.  Throw in half of 1 ají amarillo (peruvian yellow chile pepper) very finely sliced, along with one chopped garlic clove.  Let fry about 30 seconds.

2)  Toss in a few generous handfuls of shredded/finely sliced cabbage, carrot, and finely diced potato,

3)  Drizzle with a tasty sauce (mine was:  1 tbl red wine vinegar, a few tbl soy sauce, a few tbl brown sugar, a pinch of ginger, a pinch of cayenne, a generous pinch of garam masala, and a tbl peanut butter all mixed together)

4)  Mix well, turn heat down, cover, and let simmer 5-10 minutes, or until potato is cooked.  Serve with rice.

So, what’s your favorite cabbage recipe?

